13,633 Arkansas Students Choose District Schools Outside of Residence

With 13,633 choosing schools in districts other than their own in 2016-17, the state’s greatest beneficiaries of inter-district school ranged from North to South, East to West, rural to urban.

District School Choice Students 
 Greene Co. Tech 537
 Southside (Independence Co.) 474
 Paragould 431
 Bauxite 405
 Alma 349
 West Memphis 338
 Lakeside (Garland Co.) 337
 Benton 318
 North Little Rock 285
 Pottsville 269
 West Fork 239
 White Hall 220
 Poyen 210
 Watson Chapel 207
 Little Rock 192
 Harmony Grove (Benton Co.) 187
 Greenwood 182
 Valley View 181
 Bryant 167
 Elkins 161
 Mountain Home 158
 Jonesboro 155
 Lawrence Co. 155
 Palestine-Wheatley 153
 Van Buren 150
 Perryville 149
 Brookland 143
 Hoxie 143
 Pocahontas 142
 Nettleton 131
 Farmington 128
 Greenbrier 128
 Pea Ridge 122
 Hot Springs 116
 Magnet Cove 106
 Cave City 101

Sadly, the residents of eight Arkansas school districts were denied choice by their boards. Six of those districts were counseled by the same law firm – Alan P. Roberts PA of Camden. The newly elected board of the Pulaski County Special School District fired the firm earlier this year and will fully participate in and benefit from inter-district school beginning in 2018. It remains to be seen if the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District will follow PCSSD’s lead, as it did on exemption. Here are the exempting districts, linked to their anachronistic and non-conflicting excuses for exemption.

Previous Post
How Springdale Starts Teachers Over $11,500 More Than LRSD
Next Post
In Three of Five LRSD High Schools, Over 90% of Students Fail to Meet Readiness in Math, Science