194 Schools Qualify for Recognition Program Funds

LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce that 194 schools qualify for funds through the Arkansas School Recognition Program.

The Arkansas School Recognition Program, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2107, was created to provide financial awards to public schools that achieve high student performance and public schools that achieve high student academic growth, which includes high school graduation rates where applicable.

Reflective of 2015 legislative updates, the program recognizes the top 10 percent of schools based on academic achievement and the top 10 percent based on academic growth, which includes graduation rates where applicable.

Schools receiving recognition funds must establish a committee to determine the best use of the funds. The committee includes the principal, a teacher elected by the faculty, and a parent representative selected by the local Parent Teacher Association or another parental involvement group. Schools must use the funds for faculty and staff bonuses, educational equipment and materials, or personnel to assist with improving or maintaining student performance.

To see the complete list of schools and amounts they are eligible to receive, see Commissioner’s Memo COM-16-074 or go to http://www.arkansased.gov/divisions/public-school-accountability/school-performance/reward-schools.  

Previous Post
Demand PCSSD, JNPSD Choose School Choice
Next Post
School Choice Deniers and the ‘Boo Radley’ of Arkansas Education