ADE Releases Updated List of Priority and Focus Schools

LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education releases the updated list of priority and focus schools.

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 requires states to update the list of priority and focus schools to ensure that interventions are being implemented in the lowest-performing schools. Arkansas’ ESEA Flexibility request was recently renewed for one year, resulting in an updated list.

“ADE is committed to supporting quality education that prepares students to succeed in either college or a career,” Commissioner Johnny Key said. “To that end, ADE will provide support and assistance to the focus and priority schools in accordance with the Arkansas ESEA Flexibility request.”

Student performance on Benchmark exams for math and literacy in grades three through eight, Algebra I, geometry and grade 11 literacy from 2011-12, 2012-13 and 2013-14 were used to name the newly identified priority and focus schools.

Focus schools include 10 percent of schools with the largest student performance gaps over a three-year period between targeted and non-targeted student groups. Students are included in the targeted group if they are economically disadvantaged, English learners or have a disability.

Priority schools include 5 percent of schools with the lowest performance over a three-year period.

The updated list of priority and focus schools is available at

Previous Post
LRSD Secondary Schools: Powerful Opponents vs. Persistent Parents
Next Post
Time for Little Rock School District Residents to Show True Colors