Members of Charter Authorizing Panel Named

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Johnny Key recently appointed new members to the Charter Authorizing Panel.

The Charter Authorizing Panel oversees the authorization, renewal, revision and revocation of charters. The Arkansas Quality Charter Schools Act of 2013 requires the commissioner to appoint ADE staff to the panel.

Dr. Mark Gotcher, the deputy commissioner, and Greg Rogers, the new assistant commissioner for Fiscal and Administrative Services, will serve on the panel. In addition, Jennifer Liwo, an attorney for the ADE Professional Licensure Standards Board, and Bobby Lester, the director of the ADE Federal Programs Unit, will serve as well.

Deborah Coffman, ADE’s chief of staff who has served on the panel since 2013, will serve as the chair.

Other members who remain on the panel are Dr. Debbie Jones, assistant commissioner for Learning Services, who will serve as vice-chair; Annette Barnes, assistant commissioner for Public School Accountability; Ivy Pfeffer, assistant commissioner for Educator Effectiveness and Licensure; and Dr. Eric Saunders, the new assistant commissioner for Research and Technology.

Previous Post
Capital City Lighthouse Charter School Groundbreaking Ceremony: Gary Newton Comments
Next Post
Three Schools Selected to Receive School Improvement Funds